Just a Little “Cloud” to perhaps upset your life, Maybe

For some time now I have been getting lots of Emails inviting me to load all my information and files onto “The Cloud” being a bit aware of unsolicited mail I thought it would be best to look into this offer.
Now I am sure there are many that do use this facility and have the relief of not clogging up hard drives with loads of files, that are to all intentions safe and locked away on a server somewhere in the world, ready for you to download whenever you need them!
I wondered whether to use this until I thought long and hard and found out the following.
Microsoft are now developing windows versions that will not store onto your own drives, it is going to utilise cloud based storage, so even if you wanted your files you will not have immediate access to them, or so I am told over the internet. What does that look like in the not to distant future?
If my files are stored somewhere off my machine, how secure are they? Banks cannot secure your accounts correctly at the moment so what security do files or pictures have? Who is responsible for the security of the files, if the host server develops a glitch or is hacked do you loose your lifes work? If i download my many GB of pictures to the cloud for storage, who then owns the copyright, and who can gain access to my work and use it at there whim? What if I needed certain files for a project and there is an internet break (which happens all to often) how will I access my files to continue with my project, do I wait until restoration or is there a backup system in place to gather my own files whenever I want?
Now all thos questions are my own thoughts, but if they interfer with my business how long before I go out of that business, another little thought comes to mind. Later down the road when the cloud has absorbed the worlds information and holds it, who pays the bill, especially if I as an individual have no say in whether it stays on my machines storage or the clouds. Leading on from that the masses of information I use every day will inevitably cost me through increased costs of down and up loads to the cloud, Wont It?
Finally, if the cloud has all this information stored about everyone using it, how long before that information is sold to marketing companies, banks, and other institutions who buy personal information?
Maybe I am being a bit cynical here, but it seems to me that not every cloud has a silver lining, this one seems more like a foreboding storm cloud on the horizon.
Someone tell me I have it all wrong, but please prove it.

Leave a Reply

